‘Cowmitment’advocacy campaign

For my advocacy campaign, I made a Facebook page, cowmitment, which helped me easily spread the message of my campaign to a much larger audience. Cowmitment, is a campaign, where people show their support for Australia’s dairy farmers by sending in photos of dairy products they’ve purchased, using the hashtag #cowmitment.screen-shot-2016-10-30-at-8-07-04-pmscreen-shot-2016-10-30-at-8-07-25-pmscreen-shot-2016-10-30-at-8-05-04-pm

Through doing this, it gave people to question their particular dairy purchases next time they enter the supermarket. This was successful in that aspect, as many people jumped on board the idea, sending in many photos.

The idea of using a hashtag for my project was something that appealed to me, as it gives the campaign the possibility to trend across social media platforms. I replicated this from the many successful social media campaigns I researched; like the Garnier Men Powerlight a Village campaign.

The aim of this project was not only to rally people together to show their support for the nations dairy famers, but also to share news articles, videos, and other related content to hopefully create further discussion amongst the audience and educate them on the issues these dairy farmers are facing. Although they may not have got the same amount of ‘likes’ as the other #cowmitment photos, Facebook let me know that although people weren’t liking these posts I was sharing, they were viewing them nonetheless. This was potentially creating conversation in their social media realms.

This is an enjoyable campaign and something I’ve loved doing. I hope to continue this campaign long after the University session, to hopefully make the audience realize the enormity of the issues surrounding Australian dairy farmers.

Leave a Reply

